What’s happened to Hip Hop?

‘2 Chainz, you fucking crazy, motherfuckers know I’m fucking crazy
Fuck wrong with these bitches lately?
Bitches better get on they knees and praise me
Bitch, I rep that rich gang. Where’s Stunna? Where’s Wayne?’

My apologizes 2 Chainz but, I’m having issues answering the above question:  ‘Fuck wrong with these bitches lately?’ I’m not sure, but I think these ‘bitches’ get impressed when someone demands we get on our knees and praise you.
But don’t worry 2 Chainz; at least I’ve got an answer to one of your questions. I’ve just heard from Wayne, It appears he currently has an unimaginable feud that needs settling:

‘And if I can’t kill you.. killin’ your family
Think it’s a game, ‘rilla, test my nuts, you’ll see
How fast I send shots through your 6V’

I let out a lengthy and depressive sigh.

What the fuck has happened to Hip Hop? In 2014 the highest selling album was Rick Ross Mastermind, which sold 179,000 copies in the first week it was released. The opening lyrics of album track ‘Rich Is Gangsta’ are:

‘I just upped my stock, fuck them cops
If you love hip-hop bust them shots’

So, again I ask what has happened to Hip Hop? The genre hasn’t been around as long as, let’s say Jazz or blues, however, the thirty years or so it has been around it’s developed and has gained massive recognition around the globe, but is all that positive?

I can tell you a few reasons why I personally think people may see the genre as negative. Constant swearing and mass use of the word nigger, promotion of crime and gangs, and sexually exploiting women. I can see why society might have a negative opinion of Hip Hop, if I had children I wouldn’t want them consuming this type of music, thinking it was the norm to ‘bust them shots’ if you were a fan of Hip Hop.

But I don’t despise Hip Hop, in fact I’m a fan of Hip Hop. However I’m a fan of a different kind of Hip Hop, a kind that teaches us the problems in the government, a kind that teaches us about racism, a kind that teaches us about love, a kind that opens our eyes to issues we need to address.
But most of that Hip Hop was more popular back in the De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest days. De La Soul’s 3 Feet High And Rising album track Ghetto Thang’s opening lyrics are:

‘(Mary had a little lamb)
That’s a fib, she had two twins though
And one crib
Now she’s only fourteen, what a start
But this defect is ground common in these parts
Now life in this world can be such a bitch
And dreams are often torn and shattered and hard to stitch
Negative’s the attitude that runs the show
When the stage is the G-H-E-T-T-O’

Even N.W.A were a lot more aggressive, but at least in the song ‘Fuck Da Police’ they were expressing how terrible the system is, not that we should be killing them.

And then the Biggy/East coast vs. 2pac/West coast feud began, promoting gangs and violence, which eventually ended in both musicians in a grave.

Then 50 Cent appeared with ‘Candy Shop’…

So where did all this come from? As we know most Hip Hop artists are African/Caribbean from under privileged backgrounds, or at least they claim they are (did you know Biggy had food on the table every night, even though he raps he didn’t?). These artist use to make a statement about society, until it then became them making a statement about themselves, and how much money, bitches and weed they have. And the record industry, and us as consumers comply with it. In fact, there is even a conspiracy theory that music labels got together to promote a new type of Hip Hop which is fuelled on crime to feed there privately owned prisons. Even a type of Hip Hop called Grime which you can find in England has caught on.

All this aside, there are some gifted Hip Hop artists out there like George The Poet, truly writing poetry and attempting to change lives through music. And we should all be pushing these sort of artists to have the highest selling albums of the year, not Rick Ross.

